Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Absarokee Junior High School students who competed in the  Billings Clinic Science Expo on March 18 included, left to right, back row, Zacc Degele, Brandon South, Ashton Campbell, Christopher Pasecznyk, Hannes Chandler, Kaiya Holmquist, Maggie Howes and Kennedy Ekwortzel; front row, Colton Young, Andrew Espeland, Austin Grondin and Faith Holton. Not shown are Auddie Martin, Tymber Jensen and Peyson Acree.

Absarokee students win awards at Science Expo

More than 400 students from southeast Montana competed in the annual Billings Clinic Science Expo on March 18, including 26 from Absarokee, coached by Absarokee Junior High School science teacher Catherine Frazer.
The following Absarokee students won awards:
Peyson Acree – Craftsmanship Award
Hannes Chandler – 1st place eighth grade, Math Award, Best Use of the Scientific Method Award
Christopher Pasecznyk – 2nd place eighth grade, Naval Science Award
Ashton Campbell – 3rd place eighth grade
Kennedy Ekwortzel – Honorable Mention eighth grade
Brandon South & Zacc Degele – Honorable Mention eighth grade
Maggie Howes – Best Chemistry Project Award
Kaiya Holmquist & Tymber Jensen – Best Use of Math Award
Colton Young – Honorable Mention seventh grade
Austin Grondin – Honorable Mention seventh grade
Faith Holton – Best Animal Project Involving a Pet Award
Auddie Martin – Best Use of Math Award
Andrew Espeland – Best Use of SI Units Award
Chandler, Pasecznyk and Campbell also were nominees for the Broadcom Masters award, which is a chance to compete in a national science fair.
Other Absarokee students who participated were Tucker Sullivan, Breezy Williams, Trinity Danielson, Haley Richardson, Lexi Feddes, Keara Young, Dawson Lester, Michael Boyce, Ray LaMoure, Emily Routen and Camilla Nusbaum.